top of page

Post

Five Ways To Introduce Jesus To Your Baby

Updated: Sep 25, 2020


As a Christian mother, I am always trying to make sure I’m raising my son up to be a God-fearing man. But starting out, I was honestly confused about how even to introduce my baby to Jesus.


I started to question if I was even capable of being a mom who could teach my kids about Jesus the right way. That’s when it came to me that God gave me and you our kids for a reason and on purpose. While I was pregnant, a woman at my church told me that God has already given me everything I need to be my child’s mother. That has stuck with me since so if you’re feeling that way. Know that God calls you a mother, and everything your child needs from you is inside you.


After I got that truth inside of me, I researched what I could do to introduce Jesus to my baby effectively. So I will give you guys my top 5 ways that I personally use to teach my son about Jesus that you can start using today.


1.) Pray with your kids daily.


Every morning when we wake up, I sing Kaysen a song. He loves it when I do it, and it makes him smile. After that, I take his little hands and put them together, and we do little claps while we pray, thanking God for waking us up and asking Him to watch over us and keep our family and us safe throughout the day. We also do the same thing before we eat and go to bed.

This is a great way to put God into your child’s daily routine. Not only does it help them start a relationship with God, but your teaching your babies to make time for God in their lives daily.


Now at almost 13 months, Kaysen puts his hands together himself and tries to babble amen. The first time he did that himself, I was in awe of God could use our children. I will leave you guys our morning prayer below. We use a lot of emphases to make it fun!


  • Sample Prayer: Thank you, God, for waking us up! Thank you, God, for our life, health, and strength. Thank you, God, for another day! Please watch over my family, friends, and me throughout the day. Help us to do what you have called us to do today, God! We also keep us shielded from all hurt, harm, danger, sickness, and disease. We thank you for it now, God. We ask these things in Jesus's name, AMEN!


2.) Read Christian children books with your baby.

I loved reading growing up. So I have so many children’s books for Kaysen. But I have made it a point to get Christian children’s books that teach Kaysen about Jesus in a way that he will soon understand as he gets older.


Even though your baby may not be able to read or understand every word, your building a bond with your child, as they grow up, this will give them a safe place to ask questions and talk more openly with you about God; when you read to them, you also stimulating the part of their brain that helps them to understand the meaning of language. This will build their social and literacy skills. Some of our favorite books right now are:



3.) Play praise music during the day.

Playing praise music is a great way to introduce your baby or toddler to Jesus. My son loves to dance when he hears music. He throws his hands up as soon as he hears any music. It's the funniest thing! But it's also one of the main reasons why I should make sure I introduce him to the right music now!

When we praise God; we thank Him for all He has done; we show ourselves as a living sacrifice. This is an excellent time for you to show your kids how you praise God. They will follow and find there own way. Eventually, they will know the words to these songs. That means your babies will have the truth in their hearts and mind.

Worship music is also great because it can sit in your mind. For me, I must do my part in my son having happy thoughts. I have had anxiety and still deal with it. Those terrible thoughts are not fun. So showing him practical ways to keep good thoughts in his mind is great! So start playing your Christian playlist for your baby and creating a dance party!


4.) Offer grace and love to your baby (lead by example)

Our babies watch everything we do. One of the main things I don’t want to do as a parent is to be a hypocrite. Growing up, I saw so many people turn away from God because of their family or close friends being a hypocrite.


As parents, we can’t only teach our children about Jesus, but we must show how we are holding ourselves to that standard as well.

Of course, we will mess up. We’re not perfect. Sometimes we scream when we shouldn’t, get irritated and frustrated. That’s okay! That's motherhood! Just show the same grace to your babies that Jesus offers you.


If you have an infant/ toddler like me, some days are rough. Kids keep going and going, and we’re running off of a small amount of sleep. Before you snap or get upset, just breathe. Take a moment. Think of yourself as the baby and you being God. He gives us grace. He provides guidance, and He teaches us. God has patience. When we are wrong, God lets us know that too!

Ask God to show you how to be a reflection of Him to your kids today! So you can be the top example. They need to be the little man/woman of God; they are called to be.


5.) Change secular tv shows to Christian based shows

Television is huge in our generation. With that being said, I have found that a lot of children's shows are not always the best for them to watch. That’s why I have found a couple of shows that have Christian values or are Christian children shows for Kaysen to watch.


As babies grow up, they will imitate what they see. They are very observant. Just as it is essential for us to watch what we expose ourselves to as adults, the same thing goes for our kids.


We can’t keep our kids sheltered from the world. But we can help shape them into a beautiful person for the world to see when they do go out. Christian television shows also help you teach your babies about Jesus. They offer bible stories and let your children see other kids living out the values you want to instill into them.


Our favorite Christian cartoon is The Beginner Bible Stories. You can find these on Youtube. They explain the Bible stories in an entertaining but biblical way. I actually watched these when I was little, and my mom uses them with my nine-year-old brother. So you will definitely get years of use out of them!


Little Bill is another cartoon I watched as a kid. I found the whole series on Amazon Prime Video and Kaysen loves it! While this show isn't considered ”Christian,” it has great values in it. It teaches sharing, caring, responsibility, how to be a good friend, and more.


I know these shows are older! But I genuinely believe they are some of the best resources out there compared to some of the newer generation shows.


I hope all my moms out there enjoyed this blog and that it was helpful! The Bible says to raise up your children in the way they should go, and they won’t depart from it (Proverbs 22:6). Rest in that. God gave you your babies for a reason. They have a purpose, and I believe you will help them discover that by instilling Jesus in their life now. It’s one of the most important things you can do for your baby. Don’t give up, mama!



Keep Smiling

Keep Growing

Keep Knowing

Paige’s Proverbs

51 views0 comments
IMG_5765.JPG
ABOUT BLOG

Keep Smiling, Keep Growing, and Keep Knowing

My name is Paige Taylor. I am a 22 year old wife, mom and christian/lifestlye blogger. The purpose of this blog is to empower girls to keep smiling, keep growing and keep knowing the God they serve. When Jesus walked the Earth He didn't just preach the word of God, He let people walk through life with him. That is what I am doing here.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
SEARCH
ARCHIVES
bottom of page