top of page

Post

The Haunted House “This isn’t a trick; it’s a treat”

Hey guys ! I hope you guys are having a great week and are enjoying fall. I know this month a lot of us have been to pumpkin patches, the fair, costume party’s, and haunted houses. I know I have ! Tommorow is Halloween and if you haven’t been to a haunted house I know a lot of you will probably go; if your not don’t worry ! It‘s A possibility you have been in one of those scary houses all along. About two years ago Josh (my husband) and I went to one of the scariest places in South Alabama. It’s called “Nightmare Chambers”. We had never been to a haunted house before and this was not the best choice by any means. I remember geting there and paying for my ticket and hearing a chainsaw every 5 min. When our group got ready to go in I think Josh and I were the most terrified we had ever been. These people were coming out and scaring you infront of the 50 plus people that were there. You would literally walk up and before you could get in they were grabbing your ankles or somehow popping up behind you. However, this didn’t happen to every group, but of course it happens to mine. While my group waited to go in, one of the charchters came and scared Josh by his feet and he takes off to the gate to leave and I’m begging him in front of all of these people to come back. He finally comes back and we go in and he managed to get to the very first room and bursted though the wall and took off to the car (I can’t make this stuff up guys haha !). At this point you guys know I went with him. To move forward, after Josh went into that haunted house he was scared, terrified and all of the above. When he left he was still all of those things. He couldn’t sit in the car without twitching or looking around to see if someone was coming after him. The crazy thing is, a lot of us have been in our own haunted house. A place that’s dark, scary, broken, confusing, and terrible. Sound’s familiar right ? We have all been in a dark place in our lives where we didn’t know what was coming from around the corner or how to get out. But God. Our God still saved us though. He picked us up and dusted us off and made you and I brand new. But the problem is some of us brought a souvenir with us. The same way Josh left the haunted house running, he physically left but mentally he carried the house with him. Did you ever leave your haunted house ? Josh brought fear with him but some of you brought shame, guilt, anxiety, and depression. The list goes on. We got saved and thought we joined the happy holy club. Everything would be perfect right. You left that dark place. Then you realized you still held on to some of your baggage. But the truth is Jesus died on the cross for all of our sins. I know you hear it all the time, but really mediatate that. We don’t have to be ashamed of our past or try to fix anything on our own. I remember when when I moved into my new house after Josh and I got married. I wanted all new furniture. Nothing from my college dorm. I knew it would remind me of the past. I didn’t want that. I had a new house, new husband, and new marriage. So when God removes you from your haunted house let him take you to the light house where you can see, where there is light all around and you can see where the water meets the sea. What I mean by that is that God wants you to have an abundant life (John 10:10). He wants to take you higher. He won’t leave you down. God called us more than a conquer (Romans 8:37). He told us to cast all our cares on him (1 Peter 5:7). On this Halloween I challenge you to face your internal haunted house. To take a stand for yourself and really give it all to God. Don’t bring a souvenir. Come out knowing all you need is Jesus. Tell your baggage where your going it can’t come because where the king of kings and Lord of Lords is taking you it can’t come with you , so it has to go. Keep Smiling Keep Growing Keep Knowing Smile through it, Grow from it, Know the God you serve. —Paige Taylor Scriptures for the week:

Proverbs 3:5 John 10:10 John 14:26 Romans 8:37 1 Peter 5:37 Proverbs 12:25 Phillipans 4:6-7 Psalm 55:22 Romans 12:19 1 John 4:18 Hebrews 13:8 Please don’t hesitate to message me personally if you need someone to talk to or prayer.  

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
IMG_5765.JPG
ABOUT BLOG

Keep Smiling, Keep Growing, and Keep Knowing

My name is Paige Taylor. I am a 22 year old wife, mom and christian/lifestlye blogger. The purpose of this blog is to empower girls to keep smiling, keep growing and keep knowing the God they serve. When Jesus walked the Earth He didn't just preach the word of God, He let people walk through life with him. That is what I am doing here.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
SEARCH
ARCHIVES
bottom of page