top of page

Post

How To Get Rid Of Intrusive Thoughts

Updated: Jul 10, 2020



Do you ever get intrusive thoughts? Maybe you're ride past a building and think, “What if I set that store on fire?” Immediately after the thought you think to yourself, “Why would I think that?”  An intrusive thought is an involuntary unwanted image, phrase or impulse. Sometimes they are violent and may be even sexual. Most of the time, they induce great fear especially if it goes against your beliefs.  If you’re that person, I have great news for you! You're not alone! For so long I thought I was crazy, a psychopath and just straight messed up. But then I found out that all I needed was Jesus. He already had a plan for this!  I can remember growing up and not wanting to say curse words. I was always taught not to curse. However, they would always pop up in my mind. Somtimes, I hated my thoughts so much that I would freak out and tell my mom. I hadn't said it, but it bothered me so much I felt like I did!  As I grew up, those intrusive thoughts turned into random thoughts of evil things such as murder, fighting, treason, fear of death, rape and etc. These thoughts would send me into a downward spiral for days. I would obsess over why I would think of such a thing. I questioned who I was or what purpose a person like me could even have. I thought I was alone. I wouldn’t talk to anyone about this because I just knew they would think less of me. I smiled on the outside, but I was completely crushed on the inside. I even remember letting it get to me so much that one night I was with Josh, and I had to find somewhere to just scream and run. I couldn’t take it anymore!  So how did overcome this ? Great question!  I had to let God renew my mind. In 2017 my intrusive thoughts peaked! I was at my lowest and suffering. I was tired of being tormented by the enemy. I was being drained and mentally beaten up. I couldn’t sleep or function without thinking about how much of a bad person I was or thinking death was upon me.  After finally opening up to people I trusted, I realized that it was spiritual warfare that I had been dealing with. After seeking spiritual counseling and really seeking Gods face day in and day out; I knew God really had something he wanted to do on the inside of me. He wanted to give me a breakthrough! He wants to use me for His will. That’s when I decided to truly let God handle my situation. This isn’t something I could do alone! The enemy wanted to take me out but I was not having it! Neither is God! So I let go and chose to keep praying and believing for my freedom and it came!  Below I will give you a step by step walk through on how to let God renew your mind and soul. I will also let you know the truth and what God really thinks about these thoughts your having. Step 1: Relax - When intrusive thoughts are starting to overcome you. First relax! Breathe! For me I take this time to talk to Jesus. Go somewhere alone if you can and just Him to wrap his arms around you and give you peace that only He can give, to cover you in His blood! Allow yourself to rest in His presence. When you ask Him to come, He will show up. Even if you feel like He isn’t there, remind yourself of what you KNOW! God is with you wherever you go (Joshua 1:9). 

Step 2: Review  -When you're ready talk to Jesus as you would with anyone you trusted, then analyze your thoughts with Him. See if there is any truth to what you are thinking.  You have to be honest with yourself and with God. He isn’t Judging you.  Psalm 139:2 says, "You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar." God knows every thought that comes into our minds. God already knows our thoughts. He knows how fragile our minds are (Psalm 94:11). He also knows the intent behind our thoughts. He looks deep within us and searches our hearts (1 Chronicles 28:9). God knows how to judge between a thought, a belief, and an intent. So rest in that truth. Take some time to go back and review or analyze your thoughts. If you saw truth to some of your thoughts, don’t worry! God is prepared to forgive! (Isaiah 55:7). When you come to God ready to truly let Him in, repent for your sins and ask for forgiveness. You will receive it! Grace isn’t something you have to earn or get ready for. You're born qualified!  

Step 3: Renew - Finally, take these scriptures above and the ones listed at the end of the blog and speak truth over your life.The tongue is powerful (Proverbs 18:21). Everyday speak what God says about you to yourself out loud, when you wake up and before you go to bed. This will help you not only say the truth but believe it! Faith is nothing without work! This is you putting in work.  Don’t give up on yourself! God isn’t giving up on you. Nothing in this life is to big for God! You were never meant to do life alone.  Please understand, that if you are dealing with this, sometimes these thoughts can be overwhelming and hard to stop. It is one of the primary symptoms for obsessive compulsive disorder. It’s also a lesser symptom of other disorders. God has given us doctors and counselors qualified in these areas to help us further. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to someone. You're not alone! I pray this blog post set you free today! I pray my honesty and transparency helps you to not feel alone anymore. Please feel free to DM me on any of my social media outlets. I am always here for support and prayer. The tips I have given you require dedication to not only Jesus but yourself! You have to want freedom! You have to be ready to fight! Just know you don’t have to do it alone! There is something on the inside of you that God is about to show this world!


Keep Smiling, Keep Growing and Keep Knowing.

Smile through it, Grow from it and Know the God you serve.



81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
IMG_5765.JPG
ABOUT BLOG

Keep Smiling, Keep Growing, and Keep Knowing

My name is Paige Taylor. I am a 22 year old wife, mom and christian/lifestlye blogger. The purpose of this blog is to empower girls to keep smiling, keep growing and keep knowing the God they serve. When Jesus walked the Earth He didn't just preach the word of God, He let people walk through life with him. That is what I am doing here.

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
SEARCH
ARCHIVES
bottom of page